By default, Shiftbase has one location containing one department. If there are many employees in your account, we recommend using multiple departments. This way you can keep a better overview.
The advantage of using additional departments is that each department has its own employees and settings. This makes the schedule and the timesheets a lot clearer as not all employees are shown in one overview.
💡 Tip: Advice on how to best organize the departments in your account for your company can be found here.
Adding Locations & Departments
Adding a location can be done via Settings > Locations. This will give you an overview of all locations and departments in Shiftbase.
💡 Tip: If you add the address to your department this will allow you to use our weather forecast.
Editing Locations & Departments
By clicking on the pencil icon behind the name of a location, a location or department can be changed.
⚠️ Note: If a department is deactivated while you are using clock in without schedule, make sure you have selected a new clock department. Then the time entries will be written to the correct department.
Deleting Locations & Departments
Clicking on the trash can behind the name of a location or department will deactivate the location or department. When a location is deactivated, all of the departments below it are immediately deactivated as well.
For a deactivated department, the leave, absence and hours worked are saved for the period that the department was active. This way they can still be retrieved and exported.
⚠️ Note: If there are employees still in a department, you cannot deactivate it. Go to the User permissions to change the department of these employees.
Switching Between Locations & Departments
After creating a location or department, you can switch between the different departments in the top right corner, or check all departments so that it is fully visible.